Georges J. Joyaux Post-Secondary Educator of the Year Award

The Georges J. Joyaux Post-Secondary Educator Award is given to an outstanding post-secondary faculty member or administrator who is committed to the principle of expanding Americans’ understanding of world languages and cultures to enhance their standing in education, culture, and business in the world. This award was named in honor of Georges J. Joyaux, who was one of the founders and Presidents of the Michigan Foreign Language Association, and was a professor of French at Michigan State University for over 40 years. Award recipients are recognized at the annual MIWLA conference. The deadline for nominations is June 30.

Congratulations to our 2023 Distinguished Service Award Recipient, Jason Paetz!

Jason Paetz is a high school teacher who has been employed by Frankenmuth School District since the year 2000. He graduated from Alma College in 2000 with a BA in Spanish, with minors in secondary education and social studies. He earned his Master's Degree from SVSU in 2011 in Secondary Classroom Teaching. In his time at Frankenmuth, he has taught all levels of Spanish from level I through AP, and has also taught US History and World History. Jason has led multiple student groups to Mexico, Spain, Puerto Rico, Costa Rica, and Panama. His passion for travel started with time abroad at college studying in Spain and Ecuador.

As a teacher, Jason takes great delight in discovering and utilizing new teaching strategies and methods. He thinks of his classroom as a laboratory for trying out new things. When he finds something useful, he refines it and shares it with his coworkers, and also at MiWLA. Jason has been an active member of MiWLA dating back almost 20 years. He has served on committees to help coordinate the target language luncheon and signage, and he currently emcees the university reception. Over the past two decades, he has presented dozens of sessions and workshops to our members about music, movies, online formative assessments, virtual reality, summative speaking assessments, “can do” statements, standards-based instruction, flipped instruction, useful tech apps for teachers, social networking in L2, and has also presided over the Michigan AATSP session at MiWLA for the past 15 years. As president of AATSP, he organized multiple Spring Gatherings around the state, offering teachers the opportunity to meet one another, as well as present academic sessions.

Past Recipients of the Georges J. Joyaux Post-Secondary Educator of the Year Award

2018 Thomas Lovik 

2016 Anne Violin-Wigent 

2010 David Prestel 

2005 Genevieve Peden 

2004 Gladys  Hernandez 

1999 Robert L. Fiore 

1998 Patrick McConeghy 

1997 Pat Lunn