MIWLA Distinguished Service Award

The MIWLA Distinguished Service Award was established in 2014 and is given in recognition of exemplary service to the Michigan World Language Association and/or the profession at large. The MIWLA Executive Board nominates candidates and selects the recipient of the Award. Selection criteria may include holding leadership positions within MIWLA and/or other language organizations, serving as a chair or member of MIWLA committees, representing MIWLA in a national or international capacity, and/or other exemplary service to professional organizations or the profession at large.

Congratulations to our 2023 Distinguished Service Award Recipient, Jason Paetz!

Jason Paetz is a high school teacher who has been employed by Frankenmuth School District since the year 2000. He graduated from Alma College in 2000 with a BA in Spanish, with minors in secondary education and social studies. He earned his Master's Degree from SVSU in 2011 in Secondary Classroom Teaching. In his time at Frankenmuth, he has taught all levels of Spanish from level I through AP, and has also taught US History and World History. Jason has led multiple student groups to Mexico, Spain, Puerto Rico, Costa Rica, and Panama. His passion for travel started with time abroad at college studying in Spain and Ecuador.

As a teacher, Jason takes great delight in discovering and utilizing new teaching strategies and methods. He thinks of his classroom as a laboratory for trying out new things. When he finds something useful, he refines it and shares it with his coworkers, and also at MiWLA. Jason has been an active member of MiWLA dating back almost 20 years. He has served on committees to help coordinate the target language luncheon and signage, and he currently emcees the university reception. Over the past two decades, he has presented dozens of sessions and workshops to our members about music, movies, online formative assessments, virtual reality, summative speaking assessments, “can do” statements, standards-based instruction, flipped instruction, useful tech apps for teachers, social networking in L2, and has also presided over the Michigan AATSP session at MiWLA for the past 15 years. As president of AATSP, he organized multiple Spring Gatherings around the state, offering teachers the opportunity to meet one another, as well as present academic sessions.

Past Recipients of the Distinguished Service Award

2022 Brooke K. Murphy

2021 Allysen Clancy

2020 Daniel Noren

2019 Brenda Schnarrs

2018 Carol Chaudhri

2017 Joy Campbell

2016 George P. Mansour

2015 Linda Marlow

2014 Margaret Cottrill